Chamber group

Kaleidoscope Saxophone Quartet

Like Kaleidoscope Saxophone Quartet?
Watch & Listen

About Kaleidoscope Saxophone Quartet

Chamber group
Award-winning chamber ensemble

The Kaleidoscope Saxophone Quartet is an innovative collaboration between four creative young artists. The group's approach is built on the distinct creative personalities of its members, with engaging programmes putting classical and contemporary music alongside electronics and visuals. Trained at top UK conservatoires including the Guildhall School of Music and Drama and the Royal Northern College of Music, the quartet's work had led to multiple awards and high profile performances at venues such as the Wigmore Hall, Purcell Room and Bridgewater Hall. The quartet's lineup features an array of artistic skills: Award-winning saxophonist and composer John Rittipo-Moore; multifaceted musician and photographer/film-maker Ian Dingle; folk and jazz-influenced saxophonist Guy Passey; and award-winning chamber musician and soloist Sally MacTaggart. The quartet is committed to the creation and performance of new music, and has commissioned and premiered works from numerous talented young composers including Oliver Leith (Sound and Music Next Wave, RPS Prizewinner), Michael Cryne (LSO Panufnik Young Composer) and Jenni Watson (RLPO Ensemble 10/10). The group are also passionate about education and outreach work, and perform across the country through their work on the Live Music Now scheme and with organisations such as Enterprise Music Scotland and the Worshipful Company of Musicians. In 2014 the group were named City Music Foundation Artists, with the foundation supporting development of the quartet's debut CD along with the Help Musicians Emerging Excellence award. The group also made their Wigmore Hall debut as recipients of a Musicians' Company Maisie Lewis Foundation award, and a first appearance at the Purcell Room under the Park Lane Group banner, with the concert given a four-star review in The Times. The quartet toured Scotland as Tunnell Trust artists in 2015, performing seven concerts in as many days with a programme mixing traditional repertoire with contemporary works and a premiere of John and Ian's groundbreaking multimedia piece Iota. Later in the year they opened the Manchester Midday concert series at the Bridgewater Hall, in a concert which included the premiere of two more brand new works with film and electronics, Oil and Skull. 2015 also saw the recording of their debut album with producer John Harle, featuring music by Gavin Bryars, Jonny Greenwood and Steve Martland as well as brilliant new pieces by Oliver Leith, Jenni Watson and the group's own John Rittipo-Moore.

See all types