4ORTE Ensemble

Like 4ORTE Ensemble?

About 4ORTE Ensemble

United Kingdom
A quartet consisting of 4 musicians with varying levels of hearing loss - instruments inc. piano, flute, cornet, violin, voice (soprano).

Kindly supported by Arts Council England, “4ORTE: Championing Performances by Deaf Musicians” is a pioneering new scheme developed by Music and the Deaf. Providing performances, talks, and music workshops, the ensemble is quickly becoming a leader in performance by deaf musicians. The aims of the project are: - To promote high profile musical performances by musicians who are also D/deaf or hard of hearing - To advocate equal performance opportunities for all musicians, whether hearing or deaf - To raise the expectations of performances by deaf or hard of hearing musicians to the same level as that for performances by their hearing peers - To develop a wider understanding and awareness of deafness and of deaf and hard of hearing musicians - To engage new deaf audiences with music. The ensemble is made up of Danny Lane (piano), Ruth Montgomery (flute), Sean Chandler (trumpet, cornet etc.), and Eloise Garland (soprano, violin).

See all types


From customers:

Richard W, 3 years ago

It was a great evening and I came out feeling really uplifted and happy. I would definitely recommend you go and see them for yourselves if you get the chance.

Www.straydogstrut.co.uk, 3 years ago

Tonight’s format and performers made for an intimate and unforgettable evening.

Read all 3 reviews